Medical events COST Action B28 : "Array Technologies for BSL3 and BSL4 Pathogens"

COST Action B28 : "Array Technologies for BSL3 and BSL4 Pathogens"

4th Management Committee and WG1, WG2, WG3, WG4, WG5 Meetings
April 20 - 22, 2007, Plovdiv, Bulgaria

  • Romanian participants : Apostol Iuliana M.D., Nica Maria M.D.
  • Coordinator : Prof. Dr. Patrick Butaye
  • Schedule

Friday, April 20, 2007
17:30 - 17:45   Registration, welcome and Opening of the WG meetings
17:45 - 18:45 Janusz Paweska Current advances in CCHFV and RVFV research
Saturday, April 21, 2007
09:30 - 10:30 Ignacio Lopez-Goni Construction and validation of an ORFeome-based Brucella DNA microarray
Working Group 1 : Array technologies
11:00 - 12:30
  J. Schrenzel - chairman PL1 Introduction; presentation of the progress on the WG 1 Booklet; discussion on the collaboration scheme
  J. Kieboom,
I. A. Voskamp,
M. P. Broekhuijsen
"Genomotyping of Brucella"
  Antoine Huyghe,
Patrice Francois,
Eve-Julie Sarret,
Yvan Charbonnier,
Jacques Schrenzel
"Microarray concepts for reliable bacterial pathogen identification applied to biological threats diagnosis"
  Erhan Piskin,
Bora Garipcan,
Gokhan Demirel,
Memed Duman,
Oguzhan Caglayan,
Sinan Egri
"Patterning and immobilization techniques for array platforms/technologies"
  Karen Kempsell,
N. Silman,
R. Vipond
"DNA microarrays and routine laboratory diagnostics. Applications and altercations"
  Ingmar Janse "DNA microarrays for the detection and typing of biothreat agents"
  Henrik Nordstrom,
Kerstin Falk,
Elina Rintala,
Annelie Walden,
Norbert Nowotny,
Peter Nilssson,
Ake Lundkvist
"Technique for detection and identification of emerging viruse"
Working group 2 : Antigenicity
12:30 - 13:30
  Claude Muller - chairman PL2 Introduction; discussion on the collaboration scheme
  Claude P. Muller "The spread and evolution of highly pathogenic Avian influenza (HPAI) H5N1 in Africa"
  Fred Fack "Virus - host cell interactions investigated with gel based differential proteomics, ECL Plex western blot analysis and confocal imaging"
  Karl Walravens,
P. Michel,
D. Desqueper,
C. Didembourg,
J. De Vriese,
M. Zygmunt,
A. Cloeckaert,
J. Letesson,
J. Godfroid
"Typing of Brucella suis by the help of O-Polysaccharide specific monoclonal antibodies"
Working group 3 : Proteomics and glycomics
14:30 - 15:30
  Juri Stulik - chairman PL3 Introduction
  Juraj Lenco,
Martin Habalek,
Marek Link,
J. Stulik,
A. Macela
"Application of quantitative proteomics in the study of stress responses in F.tularensis"
  L. Skultety,
L. Hernichova,
E. Bereghazyova,
K. Slaba,
R. Toman
"Identification of biomarkers of Coxiella burnetii isolates using a mass-spectrometric approach"
  R. Toman,
P. Vadovic,
M. Fodorova,
L. Skultety
"Structural characterization of lipid A, the endotoxic center of Piscrickettsia salmonis"
Working Group 4 : Genomics
16:00 - 17:00
  Stefan Panaiotov - chairman PL4 Introduction; ddiscussion on the collaboration scheme
  I. Ivanov,
T. Kantardjiev,
P. Padeshki,
R. Nenova,
S. Panaiotov,
V. Levterova
"MLVA typing of Bulgarian F. tularensis outbreak isolates"
  Werner Ruppitsch "Austrian Agency for Health and Food Saftey : Current work on bioterrorism relevant bacterial pathogens"
  Horacio Gil,
Raquel Escudero
"Simultaneous detection of Bacillus anthracis, Yersinia pestis and Burkholderia spp by multiplex PCR combined with Reverse Line Blot"
  Anders Johansson "Analysis of canonical insertion-deletion markers for safe and rapid DNA-based typing of Francisella tularensis"
Working group 5 : Microbiology (Bacteriology, Mycology and Virology)
17:00 - 18:00
  Mandy Elschner - chairman PL5 Introduction; discussion on the collaboration scheme
  Manfred Weidman Presentation of the training school
  P. Butaye Common database for microorganisms
  Rumiana Nenova "Brucellosis - reemerging infection in Bulgaria"
  Paola Pilo "Antibiotic resistance profile of Francisella tularensis in Switzerland"
  Manfred Weidmann "Development of rapid field diagnostics for identification, control and management of hemorrhagic fever outbreaks (EU FP6-INCODEV3, VHF Diagnostics)"
  Plamen Pdeshki "Expresson library immunization and revealing of immunodominant determinants in F. tularensis"
4th Management Committee Meeting
Sunday, April 22 2007
09:30 - 12:30
  P. Butaye Adoption of the Agenda
  P. Butaye Adoption of the Minutes of the 3rd MC - Antalya
  J. Schrenzel Report of the Chair of the Working Group 1
  C. Muller Report of the Chair of the Working Group 2
  J. Stulik Report of the Chair of the Working Group 3
  S. Panaiotov Report of the Chair of the Working Group 4
  M. Elschner Report of the Chair of the Working Group 5
  P. Butaye Annual report
  P. Butaye Discussion on the ever absent MC members
  P. Butaye Operation of COST B28 web site
  Manfred Weidmann
Mandy Elschner
Organisation of the training school 2007
  P. Butaye Central database of the bacterial, fungal and viral strain collections of all the Cost Action B28 members
  P. Butaye The FP7 Health Work Programme. Possibilities for collaborations
  R. Toman STSMs : current status
  P. Butaye STSM possibilities offered by COST. An explanation on what are STSMs and how you can obtain an STSM
  All Discussion on the programme of the Brussels meeting of June 7 and 8
  All Discussion on the place and programme of next meetings
  All Any other business


No. Name Country
01 Tanja KOSTIC Austria
02 Werner Ruppitsch Austria
03 Jean Luc Gala Belgium
04 Karl Walravens Belgium
05 Frank Vandenbussche Belgium
06 Patrick Butaye Belgium
07 Jiri Stulik Czech Republic
08 Ales Macela Czech Republic
09 Juraj Lenco Czech Republic
10 Bruno Garin-Bastiju France
11 Dimitrios Frangoulidis Germany
12 Mandy Elschner Germany
13 Gernot Schmoock Germany
14 Manfred Weidmann Germany
15 Maria Sarakallos Grece
16 Claude Muller Luxemburg
17 Fred Fack Luxemburg
18 Laura Brum (Jorge Macado) Portugal
19 Rudolf Toman Slovakia
20 Ludovit Skultety Slovakia
21 Pavol Vadovic Slovakia
22 Janusz Paweska,
Sef Unitate de Patogeni Speciali Institut National pentru Boli Comunicabile,
Sandringham-Johannesburg 2131
Modderfontein Road 1
Gauteng, South Africa,
e-mail :
Invited speaker - South Africa Republic
23 Horacio Gil Spain
24 Raquel Escudero Spain
25 Ignazio Goni,
Department of Microbiology and Parasitology, University of Navarra,
Pamplona, Spain
Invited - Spania
26 Maria Nica Romania
27 Iuliana Apostol Romania
28 Henrik Nordstrom Sweden
29 Anders Johansson Sweden
30 Patrice Francois Switzerland
31 Jacques Schrenzel Switzerland
32 Antoine Huyghe Switzerland
33 Paula Pilo Switzerland
34 Ingmar Janse The Netherlands
35 Martien Broekhuijsen The Netherlands
36 Rood Busker The Netherlands
37 Sybren de Hoog The Netherlands
38 Erhan Piskin Turkey
39 Sinan Egri Turkey
40 Karen Kempsell UK
41 Stefan Panaiotov Bulgaria
42 Ivan Ivanov Bulgaria
43 Todor Kantardjev Bulgaria
44 Plamen Padeshki Bulgaria
45 Rumiana Nenova Bulgaria
46 Victoria Levterova Bulgaria
47 Nadia Brankova Bulgaria